Enter a search request and press enter. Press Esc or the X to close.

X

21 in ’21

21 in ’21

21 in ’21

We are thrilled to launch a mini-semester of learning at Temple, “21 for ’21” — twenty-one adult learning opportunities at TIU (Temple Israel University) beginning this January. 

Beyond the weekly Shabbat morning Torah Study and ongoing virtual adult Hebrew, classes range from Pirke Avot with Dr. Joe Levy and mindfulness with Greg Graber, to our Embracing Judaism class based on the Reform movement’s new text, “Honoring Tradition, Embracing Modernity.”

“Adult learning at Temple is booming. Attendance has mushroomed throughout 2020 without anyone even in the building! Whether your interest is music and meditation or text study and our ‘Ask the Rabbi’ series, virtual reality makes it possible to join every TIU class.” – Rabbi Micah D. Greenstein

The full schedule is listed below. Descriptions of Temple’s TIU offerings can be found at timemphis.org/tiu.

For questions about a specific class, please contact Temple Israel’s Judaic Program Specialist, Lynn Owen, at lynno@timemphis.org or 901.761.3130.

21 in ’21 Schedule

  1. Torah Study | Saturday, Jan. 2 at 10 am via Zoom and Facebook
  2. Pirke Avot with Dr. Joe Levy | Sunday, Jan. 3 at 3 pm via Zoom
  3. Exploring Judaism | Wednesday, Jan. 6 at 7 pm via Zoom (registration required)
  4. The Beauty of What Remains: Q&A with Rabbi Micah D. Greenstein featuring Rabbi Steve Leder | Thursday, Jan. 7 at 7 pm via Zoom (registration required) and Facebook
  5. Torah Study | Saturday, Jan. 9 at 10 am via Zoom and Facebook
  6. Pirke Avot with Dr. Joe Levy| Sunday, Jan. 10 at 3 pm via Zoom
  7. Exploring Judaism | Wednesday, Jan. 13 at 7 pm via Zoom (registration required)
  8. Ask the Rabbis | Thursday, Jan. 14 at 7 pm via Zoom and Facebook
  9. Lunch and Learn with Rabbinical Student Rabbi Jeff Dreifus, “Where Do Jews Find God? Perspectives from the Past Century.” | Friday, Jan. 15 at noon via Zoom (registration required) and Facebook
  10. Torah Study | Saturday, Jan. 16 at 10 am via Zoom and Facebook
  11. Pirke Avot with Dr. Joe Levy | Sunday, Jan. 17 at 3 pm via Zoom
  12. A Mindful 2021: Three Part Series with Greg Graber | Tuesday, Jan. 19 at 7 pm via Zoom (registration required)
  13. Exploring Judaism | Wednesday, Jan. 20 at 7 pm via Zoom (registration required)
  14. Talking to Children About Death with Rabbi Micah D. Greenstein | Thursday, Jan. 21 at 7 pm via Zoom (registration required)
  15. Torah Study | Saturday, Jan. 23 at 10 am via Zoom and Facebook
  16. Pirke Avot with Dr. Joe Levy | Sunday, Jan 24 at 3 pm via Zoom
  17. A Mindful 2021: Three Part Series with Greg Graber | Tuesday, Jan. 26 at 7 pm via Zoom (registration required)
  18. Exploring Judaism | Wednesday, Jan. 27 at 7 pm via Zoom (registration required)
  19. Tu Bishvat – Judaism’s New Year for Nature with Cantorial Soloist Happie Hoffman | Thursday, Jan. 28 at 7 pm via Zoom and Facebook
  20. Torah Study | Saturday, Jan. 30 at 10 am via Zoom and Facebook
  21. Pirke Avot with Dr. Joe Levy | Sunday, Jan. 31 at 3 pm via Zoom
I Accept

This site uses cookies to offer you a better browsing experience. If you continue using our website, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on this website and you agree to our Privacy Policy.